Who Can Claim Overtime in California?
One of the most important aspects of a person’s job is their salary and how they get paid. While your remuneration may be clearly defined for you during your regular work hours, you may have questions about overtime. What happens if you work beyond 8 hours a day or 40 hours a week? This is called overtime pay and employers in California must follow both state and federal regulations. Since this article is only a brief outline of the law, please reach out to us if you have any questions.
How Does Overtime Work?
Overtime – for non-exempt employees – is determined based on the number of hours and number of days worked. While federal law may be slightly different (and, therefore, can vary in other states), this article will only focus on laws for California.
There are two different rates that can apply to non-exempt employees. The first rate is one and a half times the rate of pay. This rate applies to employees who work more than 8 hours within a single workday, more than 40 hours within a single workweek, or for the first 8 hours on the seventh consecutive workday. The second rate is double their normal hourly salary. This second rate applies to two situations: employees who work more than 12 hours within a single workday and employees who work more than 8 hours on the seventh consecutive day. The consecutive day scenarios apply to those worked in a single workweek.
Who Can and Can’t Receive Overtime Pay?
The aforementioned applies only to non-exempt employees. Many employees fall under this category and their employer is legally required to pay for their overtime. However, some classifications of professions are considered exempt. These exempted employees cannot receive overtime. Said employees include, but are not limited to, the following: executives, administrators, professionals, volunteers, and camp employees.
If you have any questions about overtime, reach out to us today!