Child Molestation Laws in California
What exactly is ‘annoying or molesting’ a child?
Under California Child Molestation Laws Penal Code section 647.6 it states, it is illegal to annoy or molest any minor under the age of 18 while motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in the minor. The sentencing and punishment for annoying or molesting a child can be severe in California. Thus, you need a strong defense team by your side during this difficult process.
In order to convict you of annoying or molesting a child under California Child Molestation Laws, the prosecution must prove the following:
- You engaged in conduct directed at a minor AND
- A normal person, without hesitation, would have been disturbed, irritated, offended, or injured by your conduct AND
- Your conduct was motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in the minor AND
- The minor was under the age of 18 years at the time of the conduct
Defenses To A Charge Of Annoying Or Molesting A Child Under 18 | California Molestation Laws
There are a number of defenses that a California criminal defense lawyer at Law Advocate Group, LLP can provide you if you are the accused. Call us today to state your case.
Annoying or molesting a child, the sentencing and punishment process within California Child Molestation Laws
According to the California Penal Code section 647.6, annoying or molesting a child is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in county jail and a maximum $5,000 fine. However, this offense can also be charged as a felony, and you could face from 16 months to 3 years in prison in addition to a maximum $5,000 fine. There are several circumstances that can increase your sentence beyond this range:
Prior misdemeanor annoying or molesting conviction:
- If you have a prior misdemeanor annoying or molesting conviction on your record, a subsequent conviction is punishable by up to a year in state prison rather than county jail
Prior felony conviction for offense involving minor:
- If you have a prior felony conviction on your record for an any sex-offense involving a minor, annoying or molesting a child is a felony punishable by 2, 4 or 6 years in state prison
Registration as a sex offender:
- If you are convicted of annoying or molesting a child, you will be required to register as a sex offender pursuant to CA PC 290
Our Child Molestation Lawyers are Experienced & Thorough
Our child molestation law firm is based in Beverly Hills, Los Angeles, where our lawyers have acquired over 80 years of combined experience in legal representation. Our skills and knowledge are a top resource for our clients that has been recognized by industry peers and judges. If you have a criminal matter specifically involving child molestation, please take a moment to fill out the form below so that we may get in contact with you.
Request a free phone consultation with our Los Angeles Child Molestation Law Firm in Beverly Hills, CA. 855-446-0891
Do You Have a Case that California Child Molestation Laws could work to benefit you? If so, call Law Advocate Group, LLP.