California Gun Laws
In the United States, each state has its own legislation regarding the sale and possession of firearms, as well as local and federal laws. California’s specific gun laws include the following :
- Not all individuals have the right to possess firearms. People with felony convictions, two or more convictions, or those deemed mentally unfit cannot own firearms. Additionally, certain convictions may include probationary periods during which the convicted person may not possess a firearm.
- In California, you must have the appropriate permits depending on the class or characterization of your firearm. For example, permits are granted to purchase rifles and shotguns, but not to carry them. Adversely, handguns can be permitted for purchase and carry. California is a permit-issuing state, not a recognizing state.
- There are certain kinds of firearms that are illegal to make, sell or possess, including assault weapons. In order to sell lawful firearms, the retailer must have a Certificate of Eligibility. In order to purchase a firearm from a certified retailer in California, an individual must be properly licensed, have an ID, be of a certain age, and be a resident of California. They must also pass a background check and wait a 10-day mandatory period before purchase. There is also a 30-day period required in between the purchase of each firearm.
The firearm laws of California are in place to protect the public. As a current or potential gun owner, it is important to be knowledgeable and respectful of the laws set forth.